top of page

Officers & Board Members

Our Executive Board is made up of a diverse group of maritime history professionals from academic institutions, federal and state government, historic sites, museums, and non-profit organizations. Learn more about our board members here.

Executive Board

Ladd Bayliss

Executive Director

Outer Banks Conservationists

305 Queen Elizabeth Ave

Manteo, NC 27954

Danny Bell
NC Commission of Indian Affairs
Appointee for Triangle Native American Society
American Indian Studies Staff (retired)
UNC Chapel Hill

Amanda Irvin
Historic Interpreter III
Historic Edenton State Historic Site
Division of State and Historic Properties
North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources
(252) 482-2637

Valerie Johnson, Ph.D.
Dean, School of Arts, Sciences, and Humanities
Professor, Department of Sociology
Shaw University
Raleigh, NC 27601
(919) 719-5061

Lori Sanderlin
Administrative Specialist I, HR
NC DOT Ferry Division
Cherry Branch Operation
2300 Ferry Road
Havelock, NC 28532
(252) 463-7027


Jillian Schuler

Associate Editor, Tributaries

Assistant Underwater Archaeologist

Virginia Department of Historic Resources

2801 Kensington Ave, Richmond, VA 23221

Student Representatives
Alexander Owens

Program in Maritime Studies
Department of History
East Carolina University
Greenville, NC 27858

Edward "Winston" Tatum

Department of History

University of North Carolina - Wilmington

Wilmington, NC 28403

bottom of page